Lotus Mixed Congee

01Feb11

While prowling the aisles of my local Asian market, I stumbled across this breakfast porridge in one of the cold cases. I felt like trying something new, and longtime readers will know I think congee is something worth learning more about.

The ingredients were pretty interesting.

Because it was in the cold case, I wasn’t sure if I should eat this hot or cold, so I decided to try it both ways. (I’m pretty sure it was meant to be eaten cold, because there is a collapsible spoon in the lid.)

The cold version was more glutineous, more firm, and white-sugar sweet. A little too sweet, actually.

The hot version felt more familiar, almost like Irish oats in terms of texture, but more watery overall.

Ultimately, I think that I would like a savory version more, or at least a version sweetened with something with more flavor and depth than white sugar.

No Responses Yet to “Lotus Mixed Congee”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

