The Dexter

23Jan11

I’m a huge fan of Dexter. It’s pretty much the best show on television, and it seems like every season gets exponentially better.

The opening credits are also really great, and for a couple of years I’ve been wanting to put together a brunch menu based on the activities you see Dexter performing in the credits.

So, this morning I finally assembled all the ingredients.

I squeezed some fresh blood orange juice (if you want to do this for two, I’d suggest 6-8 oranges), and brewed what I’ve been laughingly referring to as “Dark Passenger” Roast (just plain dark roast coffee).

The aftermath was not unlike a scene from the show. Check out the splatter!

In the opening credits, you also see Dex enjoying some ham and eggs, with a reddish sort of sauce. I scored both sides of a couple of ham steaks (I went for honey, not maple glaze), and seared them in a hot pan.

I held the ham steaks in a 300 degree oven, and deglazed the pan with a tablespoon of bourbon and 3 tablespoons of water. Then I whisked in 3 tablespoons of hot sauce, and reserved the resulting pan sauce in a warm ramikin.

I rinsed the pan, melted a little butter in, made some eggs sunny side up, and plated the eggs and ham with some of the sauce.

It was pretty excellent.

No Responses Yet to “The Dexter”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

