On the hunt for Indonesian pancakes

19Jan10

I’m a total Bourdain junkie, with my favorite show on television being No Reservations. On the episode where Tony ventures to Indonesia, a boat-based “pancake man” visits Tony’s hotel and serves him sweet coconut pancakes on the veranda of his hut. He raved about them in the episode, and they looked absolutely incredible.

Since I won’t be able to head to Indonesia any time soon, I thought I’d see if there were any recipes for these tasty-looking pancakes kicking around. This pancakes, called Serabi, are made with rice flour, coconut, and a few other ingredients, and are far thinner than their American counterparts. Here are two promising recipes.

I haven’t had a chance to try these out yet, but I think I might whip some up for breakfast tomorrow!

No Responses Yet to “On the hunt for Indonesian pancakes”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

